Davao Region






Davao de Oro l Davao del Norte l Davao del Sur l Davao Occidental l Davao Oriental



--- DAVAO DE ORO ---


Physical Profile:


Davao de Oro formerly known as Compostela Valley or its short form COMVAL is a province in the Philippines located in the Davao Region in Mindanao. The province used to be part of Davao del Norte until it was made independent in 1998.


The province was known as Compostela Valley from its inception until December 2019, after voters in a plebiscite ratified the law which changed the name of the province to its current name.


There are 11 municipalities comprising the province, which are grouped into two (2) legislative districts. District 1 is composed of Compostela, Maragusan, Monkayo, Montevista, and New Bataan. District 2 includes Laak, Mabini, Maco, Mawab, Nabunturan, and Pantukan. The province has also 237 total barangays. Nabunturan is the capital town of the province where the provincial capital is located.



Agricultural Profile:


The agriculture sector has a significant share in the provincial economy as it has utilized 30.15 percent or 140,691.0 hectares (ha) of the total land area for the various agricultural crops, fisheries and livestock. The land area planted with major crops in the province with its corresponding annual production and average yield per hectare.


While the inventory of major poultry & livestock in the province of Davao De Oro. As of January 1, 2020, the total hog inventory in Davao Region stood at 941,256 heads. It slightly declines by 0.14 percent from the previous year’s level of 942,547 heads.





Source: Philippine Statistics Authority